Birds, Bees, and WASPLEG

Religion and politics are subjects so full of landmines that it is very easy to get blasted. This guy knows that. I don’t know who the guy lip syncing is, but I heard the track many years ago on Dr Demento.

Okay, well that didn’t come out quite like I intended, but I’m going to leave it in. The track I wanted is about a minute and a half. That says 4 minutes. Anyway, Polite conversation used to avoid those topics in order to stay polite. People say our society has gotten less polite. It certainly has on the political side of things. That actually is linguistically an oxymoron. The word politic used to mean being able to disagree with politeness. And that phrase could be interpreted a couple of different ways. Do I disagree and remain polite or do I disagree with people telling me to be polite. And so enters the RFRA, Religious Freedom Restoration Act.

My sin is better than your sin. I’ve had that conversation a number of times. Catholics have the seven deadly sins. These will get you to Hell not Purgatory, WASPLEG, Wrath Avarice Sloth Pride Lust Envy Gluttony. I’m not a Catholic. I think most other Christian religions consider sin as sin all sin is abhorrent to God, but all sin except unbelief is forgivable. Dying in unbelief is what I was taught was unforgivable.

That said, I’m going to take it a step further than that interview or TYT did. Being LGBT is worse than adultery, worse than not honoring your mother and father, is it worse than murder? The people that consider it worse than adultery and disrespect might be in that group that also considers abortion to be murder. There have been abortion doctors killed and clinics bombed. I’m not saying all prolife advocates want to kill doctors and bomb clinics. I’m not saying all prolifers consider abortion murder. But some do. Do we allow the RFRA to let people refuse service to abortion doctors? That is not a trivial issue. The flip side has been in court. Do we allow pharmacists to refuse to fill scripts for birth control pills? That HAS happened, and gone to court. There is not always another pharmacy to go to in rural areas. So far I don’t think I’ve advocated either side, but the pharmacy issue has been in the courts in the past and it is not being attached to RFRA issues now being argued. I think it should be a part of those discussions.

Now I’ve got to go buy a new router. Mine is getting flaky.

Wild

2 thoughts on “Birds, Bees, and WASPLEG

Leave a Reply

