Monday, Tuesday, WTF

If Saturday and Sunday are the weekend why does the calendar start on Sunday? If God rested on the seventh day shouldn’t most Christian calendars start on Monday?

Do you really forgive those who sin/trespass against you?

Do you really eat bread every day?

What do you want? Why are you here? What really matters?

Do you value your possessions? If your house were on fire and you had a bag of paper currency would you run back in to get it? Would you send your dog back in to get it? Fetch the bag of money boy. Go get it! Is your dog going to run back in and get the bag of money?

Maybe it’s all just part of life. To quote Marvin the Paranoid Android, “Life. Don’t talk to me about life.” Who is more wrong the person who aimlessly meanders through life or the person obsessed by fixations.

1000 years from now who is going to know your name or anything about you. I didn’t put a question mark after that. A Nazi died in Syria a few years ago. He was 98. If he had been arrested when he was 97 should he have been sent to prison? What good what that do. Would that really provide any closure to anybody. I’m skeptical that locking him up would’ve done anybody any good. That said, if he acknowledged what he did. If he cleared up unknowns, would that do any good? Perhaps. Would his victims forgive him? Would God forgive him? That would be for God to decide, not me.

Did Bill Cosby rape anybody? Should he be tried? Should he be sued? There are a lot of things I like about Bill Cosby. This isn’t one of them. When he rants about young people acting in ways that strengthen stereotypes I think he makes a good point. If you don’t like a stereotype don’t encourage people that act that way. Do I think he’s guilty? I also look at the motives of his accusers. Are they attempting to get money from him? Do they want him sent to prison? Do they want to be believed? Do they want him to acknowledge wrongdoing? When he or his representatives say that these accusations are decades old that’s sidestepping the question. Nazi war crimes happened before that and we don’t ignore them. If the statute of limitations runs out, he won’t be facing criminal charges. I don’t think that applies to lawsuits though. And it certainly doesn’t apply to closure. Closure can be a tricky thing. Do you get closure if he dies of old age? Do you have closure if he denies wrongdoing on his deathbed?

IS YOUR CLOSURE DEPENDENT ON HIS ACTIONS? If so, you lose. You have given up control over your own life. Your happiness becomes dependent on others. You are not self actualizing.

Most people aren’t. I suspect most people are probably not happy with life in general.

Is ignorance bliss?

You decide.

http://www.prettyfedup.com/pfu/philosophical/whyarepeoplesostupid.htm

Wild

2 thoughts on “Monday, Tuesday, WTF

  1. Mrs Fever

    Working backward:

    Ignorance can be bliss, I think. I’ve experienced some things – some amazing things, especially sexually – that sometimes I wonder… Would I be better off not knowing? Being offered a nibble can give you a craving, but if the taste you’ve developed can’t be satisfied again/afterward by/with anyone else… Yeah, maybe it would be better for me to NOT know. Because if I didn’t know what could be, I wouldn’t be hurt by the lack thereafter.

    Bill Cosby… This is a tough one for me. I will not be party to victim-blaming. It is not unusual for survivors of sexual assault to stay silent. Part of the reason survivors *do* remain silent is because of fear that they won’t be believed. They are right to fear. Just look at how the public has responded. As for the “Why now?” and “What are their motives?” questions… While those are valid inquiries, why are so many people automatically willing to assume the worst of the ones who were wronged? Bill Cosby has a public persona, one that he has nursed for years. He’s the Every Man, the Every Dad, the Funny Guy, the Man Who Makes Light. But I am leery of personas. I lived with an abuser, and the rest of the world thought he was a Great Guy – believe me, he was anything but. So I reserve judgment. And remember, in any incident between two people (violent or otherwise), there is Person A’s side of the story, Person B’s side of the story, and then there is What Really Happened. Because we all view the world through tainted lenses.

    Forgiveness is just as hard won as closure, and while the two are separate processes, they often work hand-in-hand. But just as the Grief Cycle is never really “over”, I think the same can be said here.

    Have I forgiven those who have trespassed against me? Some, yes and I always will. Others, never and it’ll be a cold day in hell.

    And yes, I eat bread (carbs, not money) every day.

    Like

    Reply
  2. wildoats1962 Post author

    There is always more than one side to a story, and I didn’t specify which side I agree most with. I will stand by my advice of not seeking closure from others. It gives “Others” too much power. Can you get justice prosecuting a serial offender? A serial killer only has one life to lose. I have doubts about any real justice on any issue of wrongdoing. If there is justice it would take God to sort out all the details. Even if you kill a killer or rape a rapist that doesn’t undo what was done. There is no arrow back key for life. You might be able to stop future offenses. That’s about the extent of justice. That’s very unsatisfying for most people.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

