No More Ice Cubes For Me

Are we there Yet? Are we done yet? Ghosts of Mars. Not a fan of rap. I didn’t mind his acting though. And I’m not talking about him anyway.

Nope, It’s definitely going to be tetrahedrons and hemicylinders, and maybe a few rectangular solids. I like ice. I like A LOT of ice in my cold drinks. And I tend to reuse bottles. Regular cubes and trapezoidal solids just don’t fit through the necks of thermos bottles and beverage bottles. These other shapes do. I also have a tray that makes cylinders, but to get them out you have to run hot water on the bottom and sides until it loosens up. And if you put them back in the freezer right away they all stick together. I found some trays at Blains that have the cylinders on their sides so that the other side is open. You get half-cylinders that way, and they’re easy to get out. I also have two trays that produce long rectangles and they’re made of silicon so they’re very flexible. Tetrahedrons are pyramid shaped and quite small. Very convenient except you have to use a ton of them to fill a bottle. I used to fill the bottles a little less than half full then freeze them on their side. It takes a while for those to cool the drink. They last a long time though. Using various sticks I can get the bottle to cool the contents fast and still keep them cold for awhile too.

4 thoughts on “No More Ice Cubes For Me

  1. Mrs Fever

    I am very strange about my ice. If I have a cold drink, it is not drinkable unless the glass (and I do mean glass; I don’t drink from plastic) is filled to the brim with ice. And when it starts melting, I add more. “Cold” means cold means damn icy cold, and if it’s not cold I don’t want it.

    Like

    Reply
    1. wildoats1962 Post author

      I have preferences but none of them are absolutes. I prefer to drink from glass. The glasses I use at home are not plastic. In the car and at work is a little more problematic for glass. I do look for glass thermos bottles in second hand stores. I think they work the best right up until you drop them or knock them off the counter. There are two competing factors with ice. How fast does it cool the drink and how long does it last. The smaller the pieces the greater the surface area and the faster it cools. The bigger the pieces the longer they last, but they don’t cool as fast. The issue of dilution arises if you aren’t drinking water.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Bonnie Dale Keck

    only someone who studied physics whould have a post like this; only someone who had too much time possibly on their hands would read thru it 😛

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

