Ribbed for Xtra Pleasure

As you sneakily munch on the candy your kids brought home, or on your leftover candy {always buy candy you like}, or on the candy purchased on National Discount Candy Day {Nov 1} remember the importance of brushing.

Saw that on Facebook and had to share. I am in the process of healing. The antivirals are reducing the rash {It is not gone yet}, the narcotics make the pain go away {and I seem to sleep an awful lot}, I skip the pain meds if I am driving or at work. Then I just use OTC ibuprofen.

A fellow blogger had a birthday recently, Happy Birthday Monkey! He said that his age would add up to seven. This reminded me of a curious bit of math trivia. If the numbers add up to 3, it is divisible by 3. For example, 7834527 take the individual numbers 7+8+3+4+5+2+7=36=3+6=9, 9 is divisible by 3 so is the original number. In 1997 I took a test for a job application and the math part of it consisted of various shortcuts. If you were big on math trivia it didn’t take any time at all, and it was a timed test. Anything divisible by 5 is going to end in either 5 or 0. Knowing those two bits of trivia would allow you to rule out answers if it needed to be a whole integer or if it couldn’t be a whole integer. The test was allotted 30 min. I took about 10 and triple checked my answers. I was the first one done. I didn’t get that job though, math isn’t everything I guess. I’m not that fond of dividing, but multiplying can be fun.

Just remember to brush!

Wild

Also note, a celery stalk is the whole bunch. I had always heard that the individual pieces were leaves. A leaf of celery is what you might fill with peanut butter. In looking up that ad I found out that the individual section is called a rib by some.

3 thoughts on “Ribbed for Xtra Pleasure

    1. wildoats1962 Post author

      I’m kind of a trivia buff. Lots of mostly useless pointless factoids are floating through my brain. On my next birthday the digits of my age will also add up to 7. Back in college some very smart friends of mine recruited me to be on their team for college bowl. We missed EVERY question.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

