Want Some Pi? Squaresville Man

Word play, puns, all that would be missing if we were telepathic. Jokes don’t often translate well under the best of conditions. And if you have to explain it, well, is it really worth the trouble. The Dalai Lama visited Cedar Falls Iowa either last year or the year before. A reporter thought he’d be really clever and asked him, “If you order a pizza would it be one with everything?” The joke works in English, it’s just painful if it takes 10 minutes to explain it. Although I would’ve expected him to have heard that joke at some point in time.

Your past can haunt you. The history of squares is a mixed bag, can you dig it? Square deals, we’re square, eat a square meal, those are good.

Calling someone a square is bad? Hank Hill wouldn’t agree, but such is the life of cartoons. Tangents to a circle form right angles and as such are square. Maybe the idea of a square meal started with a pizza. Pythagoras regarded squaring a circle in religious terms. Revealing irrational numbers was heresy, and they didn’t know of any regular solids bigger than a dodecahedron. Eat more fiber. The 3,4,5 right triangle was probably the ancients easiest way of making a square. Their cartoons weren’t moving.

I sometimes save drafts with cryptic notes to remind me of post ideas. This is one such post. I had noted meals, deals, hair. What was I thinking, square hair? That’s why it was a cryptic note, crypts can be nasty smelly places. Being buried doesn’t sound like a lot of fun either. Maybe I was thinking about someone with long hair getting a crew cut. There was an episode of Room 222 like that. My sister liked that show, I only watched it when she got her way.

We had one film in math class.

Gotta like them square roots. I think that was why I had hair down. I was going to make some remark about dying one’s hair and having different colored roots, ie square roots. I guess I let my hair down by forgetting that joke. See what I mean by painful explanations?

Wild

2 thoughts on “Want Some Pi? Squaresville Man

  1. Mrs Fever

    I think we should start our own Egghead Society. 😉

    I watched the whole cartoon, Wild. I haven’t seen a Donald Duck reel in a looooong time.

    “Let’s get back to our circle and triangle.”

    Sounds kinky.

    Like

    Reply
  2. wildoats1962 Post author

    Fun with Geometry, there was an episode of Family Guy where Quagmire recreates a twelve-way to show that the witness couldn’t have seen the crime. That would be like the dodecahedron. I’m surprised that there aren’t more kinky mathematicians. Course Tom Lehrer did write and perform the “Masochism Tango”, and he is a math prof at Harvard. I do like the circle of friends I’m finding here. And they do seem kinky.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

