That Only A Mother Could Love

I remember a professor telling the class maternity is certain, paternity is an assumption. That was before DNA testing. But the mother carries the child inside her body, her bodily fluids nourish the young. What’s dad? A motherfucker, thanks for the imagery Lewis CK.

What do you give to the person who helped give you life? Something valuable, like time or Love. One of my high school teachers actually provided some interesting ideas about gift giving in general. If the person needs something that is a first choice. Food, clothing, shelter are the big three. Beyond that it should be something of yourself. My mom always said that if you bought her something it meant you were thinking of her while you were in the store. If you made something for her you were thinking of her for the time it took to make it. My opinion on that is “It’s personal”. A handmade gift is a reflection of the maker. After my mom died, I did ask for a throw that the one sister had crocheted, and I asked for a painting one of the other sister’s had made. Both of my parents had some disdain for ritual. They were both more inclined to give gifts on something other than Christmas, Mother’s Day, and Father’s Day.

2 thoughts on “That Only A Mother Could Love

  1. Mrs Fever

    “Both of my parents had some disdain for ritual. They were both more inclined to give gifts on something other than Christmas, Mother’s Day, and Father’s Day.”

    I like that. Gifts should not be confined to specific occasions. Not when they’re from the heart.

    Like

    Reply
    1. wildoats1962 Post author

      The gifts given for the holidays tended to be more in the nature of a token gift. My sister really liked the cherry cheesecake my dad made. That was usually his birthday gift to her. Something homemade, something she liked, something that shows some effort even if it doesn’t cost a lot.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment