When April Showers …. She Never Closes the Curtain

An old joke immortalized by Spike Jones and it is fitting for April Fool’s Day. And what fools are we. I still enjoy the comics. Get Fuzzy had a series where Satchel confused the Beatles with Russian leaders. He was listening to John Lenin. He asked Rob about Ringo Stalin. The strip Pickles had a Sunday strip with Opal asking her daughter if she had seen her thong. The daughter was shocked, “You have a thong?” “Yes I like to wear them on the beach”. Silvia says, “Mother I don’t know what to say. I’m shocked.” I don’t remember how it’s revealed but Silvia figures out that Opal is talking about flip-flops and shows her a Victoria’s Secret catalog featuring a thong. Calvin and Hobbes has been a favorite for years. In one strip Calvin is wondering why he should have to go to school, Hobbes offers the following aphorism, “Until you can stalk and over-run, you cannot devour anyone.”

Probably the most quoted comic strip line is from Pogo. I’ll quote Wiki quoting Pogo.

Probably the most famous Pogo quotation is “We have met the enemy and he is us.” Perhaps more than any other words written by Kelly, it perfectly sums up his attitude towards the foibles of mankind and the nature of the human condition.

The quote was a parody of a message sent in 1813 from U.S. Navy Commodore Oliver Hazard Perry to Army General William Henry Harrison after his victory in the Battle of Lake Erie, stating, “We have met the enemy, and they are ours.” It first appeared in a lengthier form in “A Word to the Fore”, the foreword of the book The Pogo Papers, first published in 1953. Since the strips reprinted in Papers included the first appearances of Mole and Simple J. Malarkey, beginning Kelly’s attacks on McCarthyism, Kelly used the foreword to defend his actions:
“ Traces of nobility, gentleness and courage persist in all people, do what we will to stamp out the trend. So, too, do those characteristics which are ugly. It is just unfortunate that in the clumsy hands of a cartoonist all traits become ridiculous, leading to a certain amount of self-conscious expostulation and the desire to join battle. There is no need to sally forth, for it remains true that those things which make us human are, curiously enough, always close at hand. Resolve then, that on this very ground, with small flags waving and tinny blasts on tiny trumpets, we shall meet the enemy, and not only may he be ours, he may be us. Forward! ”

—Walt Kelly, June 1953

END QUOTE

And that brings up a good point. The other day at work there was gossip going around about a fellow employee having a profile on a swingers site. Juicy gossip huh? The person that told me that bit of gossip told me which site and told me that that person had claimed to be none judgmental. I pointed out that whoever found the profile probably found it by accident while they were perusing the site. I didn’t volunteer that I also have a profile there. I was more forceful than usual in defending a person’s right to do what they want away from the workplace. But I did feel the twinge of hypocrisy. For the most part I enjoy gossip, unless it’s vindictive or mean. If others can laugh at me, I can laugh at them and we all enjoy life a bit more. And I confess, after he told me where her profile was I did look to see if she showed any skin. She did show her face, but she didn’t show her boobs. She has big ones too. I do my best to be non-judgmental. And I do have an open mind about quite a lot. If it doesn’t hurt anybody, and there is consent all around, why should others get bent out of shape about it. I’ve noticed politicians are becoming much more openly accepting of at least certain alternative lifestyles. Some of those aspects have been neglected for far too long. If you designate someone as having durable power of attorney for medical decisions, your choice should be honored. That is not always the case. Even in traditional marriages disputes between a spouse and in-laws can get real nasty, as in Terry Schiavo. If that had been a homosexual couple that had been committed to one another for fifty years, the courts would’ve still sided with the family {even with the presence of a living will and designated power of attorney}. Your ability to make contracts shouldn’t have anything to do with your preferred sexual practices, with the exceptions for illegal activities such as pedophilia and bestiality.

Tall in the saddle? No, it’s just a high horse. Maybe the horse was in Colorado after pot became legal?

I had a weird dream last night. I dreamt there was a cop banging on my front door in the middle of the night. When I opened the door he mistook me for my oldest son and tried to arrest me. He didn’t even believe my drivers license. He thought it was a fake. I really don’t know what triggered the dream, but it was actually similar to what happened to me in 84. The cop came during the day, but he did mistake me for my roommate and I had to show him my DL to prove I wasn’t who they wanted. That was right before the Malaysians moved in.

Wild

4 thoughts on “When April Showers …. She Never Closes the Curtain

  1. Michael Conoan

    The title caught my eye! lol

    Around here, (locally at least) the politicians have become quite petty. We have our first female candidate for mayor, but she needs to grow some thick skin. She made WAY too much of a big deal about being offended by being portrayed (on a t-shirt) as being a stripper. She said it was an offense to ALL women. (Well what about strippers? lol)

    I miss Calvin and Hobbes..

    Like

    Reply
    1. wildoats1962 Post author

      It used to be that reasonable thinking people could disagree about politics without it turning into personal attacks on both sides. And a thick skin is very necessary for ANY politician. Your critics will be standing by with a saltshaker to rub any open wounds.

      I’ve been a fan of the comics as long as I can remember. I buy the books too. I have several Calvin and Hobbes, I think every Peanuts and BC published, numerous short run strips that either got cancelled or the artist moved on to other projects. Hagar used to be one of my favorites, but after Dik Brown died his son Chris took over. Chris tries to play it a little too safe. Pickles and Get Fuzzy haven’t been around long, but they’re my favorite newer strips. You might like the cat “Bucky” in Get Fuzzy. If cats could talk I think they would be like Bucky. In one strip he’s throwing stuff at the squirrels in the yard. The hardest objects he could find and throw at them were peanuts. Rob pointed out to him that his attempts to attack them basically amounted to feeding them. He pointed out that it’s still the thought that counts.

      Like

      Reply
    1. wildoats1962 Post author

      They aren’t. That was part of the dream. He does have bill collectors after him, but that isn’t quite the same. The dream never really provided a reason why they were after him. Dreams aren’t bound by logic. In my turnip dream a few years ago, the neighbors owned flamethrowers. Even though I was in the Army, I have never actually seen a flamethrower in real life. They’re probably as legal as a bazooka. The incident with my roommate was a cop trying to serve him with a subpoena, it may have been 83. He had been avoiding them, and when the cop saw me he assumed I was Tom. But he did believe my drivers license.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

